So what is Spiritual Ecology anyway?

Spiritual Ecology is working in unison with nature and the spiritual realms in relation to farming, respecting all and working collectively in harmony.. When I arrived in India in 2010, I had never even heard of the term and oh how my mind was opened…

It promotes a deep respect for the earth and our heritage by producing organically with the smallest environmental footprint possible, it’s also about being conscious of the spiritual realms that interact in nature, through blessings of the land, and daily ceremonies it invites the spiritual world to help with the growth and protection of the area.

I came across this new exciting concept during some wwoofing (volunteering) time at an organic farm in Rural India, This farm is no ordinary farm, not only is it run by two incredible people that have dedicated their lives and all their funds to create an organic, eco-friendly farm, Saha Asititva is located in a spiritual vortex where I can honestly say I have never ever felt or been anywhere like it.

The farm is located next to the pilgrimage destination of Ganeshpuri, a tiny village full of fascinating and mystical temples with an uncommercial and authentic off-the-beaten-track vibe…

I was blown away by the whole philosophy of the two founders of the farm, Kalyani, British, married to Daniel of the USA. These guys are unbelievably inspiring, living as pure and simple as possible, they lead their lives 100% by their principles and ideologies. They do what they believe in and they believe in what they do.

That’s why the farm is so successful, and that’s why the term spiritual ecology is so intriguing …

The energy of this farm is overwhelming, Agni Hotra (a daily spiritual ceremony) is performed on the farm by the volunteers or staff who live there full-time, it’s a chanting ritual performed exactly at sunrise and sunset to ask for protection and blessings for the land. These sacred prayers are offered whilst burning ghee, cow excrement and rice.

When I started to learn more about spiritual ecology and ‘spiritual beings’ in nature, I couldn’t help put picture fairies and pixies, quite like the imagination of a child, but the more time I spent there, the more I felt the ever presence of magical vibrations. Unfortunately I didn’t see cutely dressed elves and gnomes, but the evidence I started to see and feel was really impressive...

During my time there I was pretty snap happy with my camera, the setting on this garden-like farm is stunning. After reviewing the photos with Kalyani, we began to see many beautiful lights and orbs in many of the pictures.

This is when I began to read even more into Spiritual ecology and learn from Kalyani’s insightful teachings.

We started getting more excited as time went on when more of these mystical lights appeared in the photos. One evening me and Kalyani stood in front of a tree, calling out for the spiritual beings to come into our photo and it was here a multi-coloured transparent circle with ‘wings’ outshone all the other orbs in the black darkness of the fields as we took a few snaps.

With all these wonderful photos of the farm, I began to make a video on this spiritual ecology at Saha Astitva, where you can see some of the photos.

Buying barren land and literally starting a farm from scratch, Saha Asitiva aims to peacefully demonstrate the benefits of organic farming by working in harmony alongside Mother Nature and create jobs for local tribesmen. This is a link to their page, going there to volunteer was one of the best things I have ever done. I even broke my rule to never return to the same place went back a year later.

http://thankindia.org/

 

 

Related Articles;

What is Meditation?

Travelling on a budget

2 thoughts on “So what is Spiritual Ecology anyway?

  1. Marianne says:

    This is beautiful, Angela! It must have been a phenomenal experience. Thank you for sharing your traveling experiences. I’m delighted to see young people like yourself. It’s so refreshing!

  2. Thanks Marianne! It was a wonderful experience which is why i went back! Thank you for the lovely comment it’s made my day!

Leave a Reply

